Skip to content

Explore the Festival

Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra

The Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra (LACO) was founded in 1968 as an artistic outlet for the film and record studios' most gifted musicians. Since then, the 40-member orchestra has acquired a reputation as one of the top ten ensembles of its kind in the world.

*Programming and artists subject to change, please refer to the participating organization’s calendar listing for the most up-to-date program.

Performance Times

Saturday November 11th, 8:00PM

Sunday November 12th, 7:00PM

Buy TicketsBuy Tickets



What do we gain from retracing our steps? The evolving voice of the violin. The rollicking shores of Western Scotland. The “storm and stress” of late 18th century Germany. Conductor Laureate Jeffrey Kahane conducts Jennifer Koh and LACO in a concert on remembering, retracing, and reimagining.




SYMPHONY NO. 3 (“Scottish”)

Program Notes

What do we gain from retracing our steps? The rollicking shores of Western Scotland. The "storm and stress" of late 18th-century Germany. The evolving voice of the violin. The program for "Pathways: Kahane + Koh" contains pieces that detail a process or a place; capturing a moment in time, or many moments, to remember where the composer has been or to clarify where they would like to go.

The centerpiece of this program is the world premiere of celebrated composer Nina C. Young’s violin concerto "Traces," written for violinist Jennifer Koh, as part of the New American Concerto, Koh’s multi-season commissioning project that explores the form of the violin concerto and its potential for artistic engagement with contemporary societal concerns and issues. Co-commissioned by the Los Angeles Chamber Orchestra (LACO) and the Philadelphia Orchestra, "Traces" continues a consistent theme in Young’s works of retracing and reiterating memories and mourning the passage of time, found in such works as "Traced Upon Cinders" for a chamber ensemble and "Etched in Sand" for a percussion sextet.

Mendelssohn’s Symphony No. 3 in A minor, "Scottish," and C.P.E. Bach’s Symphony in D major complement Young’s concerto, surveying how composers of the past also understood music as a means to access the depths of our collective and personal memories. The program as a whole offers a compelling blend of historical perspectives and contemporary artistic engagement, inviting the audience to reflect on where we have been and consider where we are headed.